Next Tournament


A big "SALUTE" to all the veterans and their family members. We really appreciate all you have and all you will do for the United States of America.
A special note, George Barton stopped by, in improved health and wanted me to wish everyone a "Happy Thanksgiving". It was George Barton's idea to host an Armed Forces Tournament. Im glad he got to witness the thirty six players who came and supported his idea. George has been under the weather but stopped by for a brief moment, played several casual games against Joshua Hampton, East High Dark Knights and hopes to return to tournament play in 2011.

With the recent passing of Grand Master Larry Evans, member of the Manhattan Chess Club in New York City, died in Reno, Nevada on Friday, November 19, 2010, helped Bobby Fischer win the US Championship in 1972 and also Dr. Rawle Farley, Rochester Chess Center member also passed away. In rembererance of both members of the Chess Community, we named the Scholastic Section in their memory. Keep their familes and friends in your prayers.

The results in the Evans - Farley Memorial Scholastic Section was Undefeated Champion, Vinay Sharma from Ontario, Canada. Our first international scholastic champion, earning 2nd Place - Jonathan Boone, East High Dark Knights, 3rd Place - Wes Darling, Pioneer Chess Club and 4th Place - James W. Hampton, East High Dark Knights. We want to welcome to the US Chess Federation and the Buffalo Chess community, Justin Arrington, a new recruit from East High Dark Knights and Zachary Bodeck, Bishop Timon.

The Korean War Veteran Section, are celebrating their 60th Anniversary this year. There were 18 players and a big "Salute" goes to Chris Darling, Austin Kossow, Nathan Palmisano, Ryan Palmisano and Carl Raymore who are now stepping up to the next challenge from the Scholastic Section and into the U1500. Welcome newcomers, Daniel S. Thompson, Amherst, NY and Riyath A. Mallahi, Bishop Timon to the U1500 section.

The results of the Korean War Section - Undefeated Champion, Yogesh Bedekar, tied for 2nd place - John T. Nelson, Bishop Timon and Vinay Sharma, Ontario, Canada.

The Upset Leaders were as follows; John T. Nelson - 1317 pts., Justin Craddock - 767 pts., Matt Leahy - 526 pts., Chris Darling - 318 pts., Ryan Palmisano - 282.5 pts., Carl Raymore - 101 pts.,Daniel S. Thompson - 86 pts., and Austin Kossow - 69pts.

The results of the Armed Forces - 761st Tank Battalion Section were; Co-Champions - Barry Davis(2076), National Master and Lionel L. Davis(2236), National Master. The U1900 winner was Albert Patterson, Pioneer Chess Club.

Upset Leaders were; Riyath A. Mallahi - 349 pts., David M. Biddle - 161 pts., Albert Patterson - 136 pts., David S. Miller - 123 pts., Barry Davis - 80 pts., and Ryan Madden - 22 pts.

A special thanks to Diane Ruminski who helped volunteered with the pizza, chocolate and refreshements, Dr. James Paul for his contribution for the "healthy choice" fruit basket and Robert Simpson, Esq. for his contributions for pizza and photographs.

We want to personally wish to you and your families a "HAPPY THANKSGIVING"!.

Our next Holiday Grand Prix tournament will be Saturday, December 18, 2010, Advanced entries must be received no later than Wednesday, December 15, 2010 and mailed to The Archangel 8 Chess Academy, 60F Guilford Lane, Buffalo, NY 14221. Online registration no later than Friday, December 17, 2010 with reply to with full name, USCF Id number and telephone. Help us continue to grow our Buffalo Chess community, Tell a Friend! and Bring a Friend! recruitment program.

Submitted by Mc Duffie, Chess Ambassador and U.S. Chess Federation, Tournament Director.

No comments:

Post a Comment