Next Tournament

Ryan Palmisano wins White Memorial

Pioneer chess club scholastic member, Ryan Palmisano captured this year's Jeff White Memorial Trophy. This is the second year that the award went to the top U1200 player competing in the Mayor's Cup and Class Championship. In prior years it was awarded as the top award in the Open section of a stand alone tournament. As such, Ryan's name joins that of last year's Class E Champion-Jacob Meloon. Both these junior scholastic player's names now are inscribed just below International Masters Dr. Ken Regan and Brian Hartman and Grand Master Jaan Ehlvest. Pretty cool for the kids-I think.
Jeff White was the former president of the Niagara Falls Chess Club until he passed away from cancer at a young age.
Check back soon for more results from the 2010 Buffalo Mayor's Cup and Class Championship shortly.
Ryan Palmisano is seen in the center of the photo as he receives the Jeff White Memorial Trophy from The WNY Chess Ambassador Michael McDuffie (on left) who also is the Tournament Director of the Mayor's Cup and director of Archangel Chess Academy and Dr. Mark Mieth (on right) current president of The Nigara Falls Chess Club.

1 comment:

  1. Congratulations, Ryan! Nice going!