Next Tournament

1st Annual Mayor's Cup Championships Final Results 2007

I want to give thanks to the forty plus players and WNY Chess community for their continued commitment and support. Great tournaments are the result of great chess players who believe in the advancement of the best international game through out the world. The final results are as follows from each section: Mayor's Byron W. Brown Cup Open Masters Champion, National Master Eddie Mark III, Tied Second Place: Douglas Dubose and Mark Clark. Senator Antoine M. Thompson U1800 Section Champion: Thomas Warner (UNDEFEATED 5-0), 2nd Place: Glenn Westcott. Paul Turecki U1400 Section Champion: Evan Ashton, 2nd Place: Yakun Hu. Susan Polgar U1000 Section Champion: Aaron J. Mc Duffe (UNDEFEATED 5-0), 2nd Place: Ryan Madden. Fran and Horace Mc Duffie Top Scholastic Award: Bob Shao. Susan Polgar Top Female Award: Amanda Chinn. Quadir Habeeb Faith Award: Jessica Collins, 2nd grader. Congratulations to all and our next Grand Prix Open Tournament is Saturday, July 14th, August 11th, and September 15th, 2007, Main Place Mall, 390 Main Street, Buffalo, NY. 4 Round Swiss, Game 45, Rounds start at 10am, 11:45am, 1:30pm and 3:15pm. Late entries will be forced to take 1/2 point bye. USCF Rated, 10 Enhanced Grand Prix Points, Entry fee $35.00, checks made payable to Archangel 8 Chess Academy, 60F Guilford Lane, Buffalo, NY 14221. Or email at with full name, USCF ID number, and USCF Current Rating.


  1. Unfortunately had wrist surgery on Fri. and had to miss out on my last chance to play a tournament in Buffalo before I leave :(

  2. Michael,

    It is kind of you to give us thanks, however, it is us who should be thanking you for all that you have done and continue to do to keep tournament and scholastic chess vibrant in the Buffalo-Niagara region.


    Best in chess and in life,
    Dr. Mark Mieth

  3. How did our players do? Anyone perform very well?

    - Peter

  4. Peter,

    This was all of us from the Buffalo-Niagara region. So yes we did do well.

  5. Congratulations to all the winners, what a fine performance by all involved.